Better than the movie

Standard

As I was drifting off to sleep last night (at 9:15, party animal)  I was thinking about the things I would like to pass on to my son. Most importantly a love for reading and with that, my collection of books that I hope he likes.

When I was younger my mom bought me a few Nancy Drew books that she had loved a s a child. I tried to read them but for some reason or another they were pushed to the side to make way for the newest Fear Street book. (Fear=Fier=Fire, almost 15 years after I still remember that.) I wish that I could have shared a love for that series with my mom. I’m sure that there will be new books that he will be interested in but I’d really like him to enjoy books like Harry Potter, Goosebumps and Percy Jackson.

I hope that he can appreciate the power of the written word, the smudge of ink under your finger and the musty powder of the paperback covers. I hope he bends, rips and fold down pages, that he drops it in the pool and dries it in the sun, making the book take on a wavy appearance. I hope that I have to replace the same book that he loves several times over because it has been so well loved.

Reading is Delicious

Leave a Reply

